Chino XL – Here To Save You All (1996)

May 27, 2011


01. Here To Save You All
02. Deliver
03. No Complex
04. Partner To Swing
05. It’s All Bad
06. Freestyle Rhymes
07. Riiiot! feat. Ras Kass
08. Waiting To Exhale feat. Gravitation
09. What Am I
10. Feelin’ Evil Again
11. Thousands
12. Kreep
13. Many Different Ways
14. The Shabba-Doo Conspiracy feat. Kool Keith
15. Ghetto Vampire
16. Rise
17. Hidden Track

Here to Save You All is the debut album by emcee Chino XL released on April 9, 1996. It is predominantly produced by B Wiz and only held two guest appearances from Ras Kass and Kool Keith. It was produced mostly by Chino’s close associates, and the lyrical content revolved around dark, hardcore themes (mostly metaphorical braggadoccio), dismissing the commercialized hip hop that was starting to gain momentum at this time. It contains the infamous but well-known song “Riiiot!” which had a line that possibly alluded to West Coast rapper 2Pac getting raped in prison. 2Pac later called him out on “Hit Em Up,” and Chino responded with a freestyle dis. Chino himself stated that the line was not meant as a dis, and he and 2Pac were on good terms at the time of his passing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s