Daz Dillinger, Retaliation, Revenge and Get Back

August 25, 2011

Retaliation, Revenge and Get Back is the debut studio album by rapper Daz Dillinger, released March 31, 1998 on Death Row Records.

He was one of the last artists on Death Row after its collapse in 1996, after the death of 2Pac. Daz was the head of Death Row while Suge Knight was imprisoned for a fight he, 2pac, and fellow Death Row members got into with Orlando Anderson in Las Vegas on Sept 7th. The album peaked at number 8 on the Billboard 200 on April 18 with a solid 84,000[4] of first week retails. Daz soon left after the failure of this album to form his own record company, D.P.G. Recordz. He later returned to Death Row with Big C-Style to form Dogg Pound Records with such artists as Soopafly, Mac Shawn, Crooked I, South Sentrell, and others.

The album was also the last Death Row album to feature any kind of G-Funk production, the style that Dr. Dre developed which initially made Death Row famous. Since Daz was one of the last of a dying breed, he largely moved on to different techniques after this album, this could be considered the last hallmark of the musical trend.

The album’s cover artwork references the cover of Marvin Gaye’s album, In Our Lifetime.

  1. “Gang Bangin’ Ass Criminal” (featuring Kurupt, Soopafly, Tray Deee, Bad Azz, Techniec)
  2. “It’s Going Down” (featuring Kurupt, Prince Ital Joe)
  3. “Playa Partners” (featuring B-Legit, Bo-Roc)
  4. “It Might Sound Crazy” (featuring Too Short)
  5. “Our Daily Bread” (featuring Kurupt, Prince Ital Joe)
  6. “In California” (featuring Val Young)
  7. “Initiated” (featuring 2Pac, Kurupt, Outlawz)
  8. “Oh No” (featuring Tray Dee, J-Money)
  9. “Retaliation, Revenge and Get Back
  10. “O.G.” (featuring Snoop Dogg, Nate Dogg)
  11. “Baby Mama Drama” (featuring Big C-Style, Lil’ C-Style)
  12. ‘Only For U” (featuring Big Pimpin’ Delemond, Val Young)
  13. “Ridin’ High” (featuring WC, CJ Mac)
  14. “The Ultimate Come Up” (featuring MC Eiht, Bad Azz)
  15. “Thank God For My Life” (featuring Bad Azz, Tray Dee, Soopafly, Big Pimpin’ Delemond)
  16. “Why Do We Bang” (Outro)
  17. “Pimp City” (featuring Soopafly) (LP and cassette only bonus track, available on Soopafly: Dat Whoopty Woop)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s