Gang Starr

September 16, 2011

Step In the Arena is the second studio album by hip hop duo Gang Starr, released on January 15 1991. Initially, the album was rated 3.5 out of 5 mics in The Source magazine.[4] In his review, Reef wrote: “Step in the Arena stands alone on a musical level, yet it also remains true to hip-hop’s underground heritage.” In 1998, the album was selected as one of The Source’s 100 Best Hip Hop Albums.[5] In 2007, it was named the greatest hip hop album of all time by[6] The song “Who’s Gonna Take the Weight” was remixed by DJ Premier for use in the video game Grand Theft Auto IV.

  1. “Name Tag (Premier & the Guru)”
  2. “Step in the Arena”
  3. “Form of Intellect”
  4. “Execution of a Chump (No More Mr. Nice Guy Pt. 2)”
  5. “Who’s Gonna Take the Weight?”
  6. “Beyond Comprehension”
  7. “Check the Technique”
  8. “Lovesick”
  9. “Here Today, Gone Tomorrow”
  10. “Game Plan”
  11. “Take a Rest”
  12. “What You Want this Time?”
  13. “Street Ministry”
  14. “Just to Get a Rep” (short version)
  15. “Say Your Prayers”
  16. “As I Read My S-A”
  17. “Precisely the Right Rhymes”
  18. “The Meaning of the Name”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s