Colin Munroe – Unsung Hero

September 12, 2012

Colin Munroe has long considered himself an Unsung Hero in the music game, and for good reason: the Ontario-repping singer, songwriter and producer’s spent the last several years just under the national radar, creating some of the dopest, most innovative work the music industry has seen in a minute. With today’s release of his latest street album via Karmaloop, however, he’s well on his way to getting the attention he deserves. A genre-blending melange of hip-hop, pop, rock, R&B and electronic influences, the project comes on the heels of much-buzzed-about singles “Over It,” “Your Eyes” and “Invincible,” and features an appropriately eclectic slate of guest artists, including Ab-Soul, Cassie, Kendrick Lamar, K.Flay, Memoryhouse and Pusha T. In addition to Munroe’s own production, Unsung Hero packs boardwork by Boi-1da & D10, RZA and more.


Just the another episode in the series… With some stuff I had to say. (at 19:19)

“The whole ANOTHER EPISODE series started when people would ask me what I’m listening to at the moment, so instead of going thru my iPhone and telling them. I decided to create a mini-mix of some songs I’m on and think others should hear.

This is NOT a PLAY ALL THE NEWEST TRACKS mix, I really am bumping these tracks on the reg. So check out the mix, support the artists and I’ll see ya next time…” SQEME


New mixtape from Slaughterhouse hosted by DJ Drama. Follow @Slaughterhouse @DJDrama


01 Labyrinth
02 SouthWest Testament
03 We Can’t Miss Ft. Western Tink
04 Talkin’ Bout Ft. ShowYouSuck
05 WaterBed Wave Ft. Antwon
06 LA Nights Ft. Murs
07 Point Of No Return
08 Cardboard Coffin




01. Intro [00:24] 02. Ivy League (feat. Promise) (Prod. By Mike Will) [03:16] 03. Prynceton University [00:14] 04. Honor Roll [03:29] 05. A-Town (feat. B.o.B. & Travis Porter) (Prod. By Anthem) [05:07] 06. Slick (Prod. By Beat Billionaire) [03:29] 07. Real Talk (feat. Dose) (Prod. By Lex Luger) [05:17] 08. Ivy League Skit [00:10] 09. Food Savers And Scissors (feat. ScHoolboy Q) (Prod. By Beat Billionaire) [04:05] 10. Tool (feat. Pill & Trouble) (Prod. By Illusive Orchestra) [04:39] 11. Drank And Smoke (feat. Big K.R.I.T. & Yelawolf) (Prod. By Ckp) [04:57] 12. Bachelor (Prod. By Cozmo) [03:51] 13. Tomorrow (Prod. By T-Minus) [04:08] 14. Grits (feat. Stuey Rock & K-Camp) (Prod. By Drumma Boy) [04:05] 15. Feet Up (Prod. By Boogz And Tapez) [04:07] 16. Can’t Stand Y’all (Prod. By Spinz) [02:32] 17. 100 Bottles (feat. Chris Brown & Big Sean) (Prod. By DJ Chuckie) [03:05] 18. Lives (feat. Kris Stephens) (Prod. By Illusive Orchestra) [03:54] 19. Entourage (feat. Hit Boy) (Prod. By Illusive Orchestra) [04:49] 20. Changed (Prod. By Anthem) [04:11] 21. Outro [00:35]



Newly signed to Tech N9ne’s record label Strange Music, Kansas City’s very own CES Cru has arrived with their debut solo mix tapes. Ubiquitous’ Matter Don’t Money is a stunning collection of songs that put a gut check to a rap game full of fluff.  With the lyrical intricacy and fiery flow that has become a trademark of anything CES Cru-related, Matter Don’t Money features Ubiquitous spitting the kind of lyrics that hit you in the gut but stay in the head. The production features the originality and depth that has become synonymous with Kansas City hip hop: “Roadwork” soars to the heavens, “Larry David” charms with its whimsical boom-bap and the eerie “Harmony Of Spheres” is sure to induce a hypnotic trance. This staggering debut from Ubiquitous further proves that Kansas City is hip hop’s best-kept secret and that CES Cru and Strange Music are here to stay.  Stay tuned: this is only the beginning.

Newly signed to Tech N9ne’s record label Strange Music, Kansas City’s very own CES Cru has arrived with their debut solo mix tapes. Godemis’ The Deevil is a crafty and otherworldly mix tape from the Midwest’s deadliest lyrical mastermind.  Created in a cauldron from deepest pits of the Kansas City underground, The Deevil serves as a twisted reminder that no microphone is safe. With a razor sharp tongue that slices through the funkiest of beats with ease, Godemis imposes his sick, lyrical will over the eclectic instrumentals of producer Info Gates. The results are nothing short of astounding and are sure to haunt a listener well after the last track. “Deevil Kneevil” sports an unmatchable flow, “On My Mind” is a love song unlike any you have ever heard and the single“Old Gregg” is as diabolical as it is head-noddable. This mesmerizing debut will let the world know that Godemis and CES Cru will be in hip hop for the long haul and are right at home with the elite artists on Strange Music .  Stay tuned because this is just the beginning.

01 – Narubi Selah – U Already Know 02 – Flipsidee – Winding Roadz 03 – Jean Grae – A-Alikes 04 – Alyssa Marie – Passin’ Me By 05 – Madd Mary & Miss.She.iLL – Madd iLL 06 – JNatural & Medusa – They Want Sex 07 – C.Carter – Money Power Respect 08 – Trinity – Thinkers Box 09 – Ruby Yo! – Tell Em 10 – Ari – No Hay Héroes 11 – Ladea – Les Vrais Heros 12 – Julie C. – Round Round 13 – Ang 13 – Turn It On 14 – Farrah Burns – Patience 15 – Bebe Riz – Music Made It Possible 16 – MWellz – Red N White 17 – Sleet – Dali Ke Sfatish 18 – Phoenix Flame – Somethin’ 4 Those 19 – Megz Kelli – Around the Way / Ends of the Beginning 20 – Loop Loona – Virgo Vibes / Invincible – Eye of the Beholder


Blog | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Download

“Follow the Leaders” features rhyme work from Rapper Big Pooh, Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire, Machine Gun Kelly and more, which is a really crazy mix of emcees, and all production of course comes from The Kickdrums, with Ski Beatz co-producing one joint.
Download link and tracklist is below the video for “Want My Blood”. And for everyone who cares, that A$AP Rocky x Lana Del Ray joint got pulled from this mixtape because Rocky wants to use it on his album Enjoy

01. The KickDrums – Thieves In The Choir (Feat. Casey Veggies) (3:11)
02. The KickDrums – Want My Blood (Feat. DZ Deathrays & Rockie Fresh) (3:05)
03. The KickDrums – My Life (Feat. Machine Gun Kelly) (3:32)
04. The KickDrums – Naked (4:06)
05. The KickDrums – The Way It Goes (Feat. Big Pooh) (Co-Prod. By Anna Yvette) (3:03)
06. The KickDrums – The Last Goodbye (Feat. YP) (3:14)
07. The KickDrums – Lights (Feat. Rebecca Jordan) (4:03)
08. The KickDrums – Traces (3:28)
09. The KickDrums – Death Wish (Feat. Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire & Maluca) (2:59)
10. The KickDrums – Safer Than Heaven (3:03)
11. The KickDrums – Whatever You’d Like (Feat. Gilbert Forte) (Co-Prod. By Sk8beatz) (3:51)
12. The KickDrums – Come Come (Feat. Hot As Sun & Freddie Gibbs) (3:25)
13. The KickDrums – Come And Go (Alan Wilkis & The KickDrums) (4:40)

Ras Kass and Doc Hollywood have come together with The DJBooth to bring listeners their new collaborative LP release, Spit No Evil.

The project features 14 original records from the West Coast underground rhymesayer and buzzmaking beat crew (composed of singer/producer Louie Rubio and DJ/rapper Lex Larson). Included on the tracklist are reader-approved singles “The Great Recession,” “Big Booty B*tches,” “Arrested Developments (Hands Up)” and “I Wave.”

Joining Ras Kass on the guest tip throughout Spit No Evil are Kat Graham and Dirt Nasty. All production comes courtesy of Louie Rubio for Doc Hollywood.

01. I Am the Future 02. I Wave 03. Arrested Developments 04. Dog Day Afternoon (ft. Kat Graham &  Dirt Nasty) 05. Big Booty B*tches 06. Heidi Klum 07. The Great Recession 08. King of Rock 09. Brown, Yellow, Puerto Rican and Haitian 10. Burning Man 11. Elevator Music 12. Take My Keys 13. The Great Silence 14. Drop No Evil